Engineering Success Center

The Don and Susie Law Engineering Success Center (ESC) is housed within the Dean’s Office in the Walter Scott, Jr. College of Engineering. We provide support and resources to current and prospective engineering students.

In-Person office hours and location

Monday – Friday, 8 a.m. – 5 p.m.

The Engineering Success Center is located on the first floor of the Suzanne and Walter Scott, Jr. Bioengineering Building, suite 102, just inside the main entrance.

About us

Our office is responsible for undergraduate recruiting and outreach efforts, retention initiatives, academic advising for undeclared engineering students, diversity and access initiatives, career support services, scholarship, the Engineering Residential Learning Community, and the coordination of College of Engineering events.

Current undergraduate engineering students have access to career education services (e.g. resume reviews, job search, internships, career advising), and the opportunity to engage with various student organizations.

Staff contacts

Casual outdoor photo of Melissa Burt

Melissa Burt

Interim Associate Dean
of Student Affairs
Melissa.Burt@colostate.edu

Becki Atadero

Interim Associate Dean
of Academic Affairs
Rebecca.Atadero@colostate.edu

Casual outdoor photo of Susan

Susan Benzel

Scott Scholars Program Director
Susan.Benzel@colostate.edu

Casual outdoor photo of Cody

Cody Dozier

Scott Scholars Events and Program Coordinator
Cody.Dozier@colostate.edu

Casual outdoor photo of Claudia

Claudia Hernandez

Coordinator for Undergraduate DEI Programs and Success Initiatives
Claudia.Hernandez@colostate.edu

Casual outdoor photo of Macarena

Macarena Lange

Assessment and Enrichment Coordinator
Macarena.Lange@colostate.edu

Casual outdoor photo of Fabiola

Fabiola Pascual Luna

Career Education Manager
Fabiola.Pascual_luna@colostate.edu

Casual outdoor photo of Estelle

Estelle Davalos McCabe

Office Manager
EstelleDavalos.McCabe@colostate.edu

Casual outdoor photo of Courtney

Courtney Olson

Career Education and Internships Coordinator
Courtney.Olson@colostate.edu

Casual outdoor photo of Sara

Sara Pharazyn

Engineering Education Outreach Coordinator and SPUR  Liaison
Sara.Pharazyn@colostate.edu

casual outdoor photo of Wesley Pratt

Wesley Pratt

Event Coordinator
Wesley.Pratt@colostate.edu

Casual outdoor photo of Bella

Bella Pulido

Undergraduate Recruitment Coordinator
Isabella.Pulido@colostate.edu

Casual outdoor photo of Betty

Betty Sims

Academic Support Coordinator
Betty.Sims@colostate.edu

Casual outdoor photo of Emily

Emily Valerioti

Scott Scholars Program Coordinator
Emily.Valerioti@colostate.edu

Casual outdoor photo of Bert

Bert Vermeulen

Instructor
Bert.Vermeulen@colostate.edu

Casual outdoor photo of Laura

Laura Wynkoop

Scholarship Coordinator
Laura.Wynkoop@colostate.edu

Engineering Career Readiness

Handshake

All appointments for Career Advising with Engineering Success Center staff must be scheduled
through the Handshake platform. Appointments must be made 24 hours in advance.

Diversity Programs in Engineering

Diversity Programs in Engineering (DPE) is building a strong community that embraces the creative ideas that minority groups contribute to engineering research and projects. In doing so, we come closer to the goal of finding the best solutions for global challenges.

Join one of our Student Diversity Organizations

ENpower Bridge Program

ENpower Bridge Program graphic

Fall 2023

ENpower is a residential program that gives incoming first-year students from underrepresented groups an opportunity to get to know campus prior to the start of the academic year, while meeting faculty, staff, and other engineering students.

Transition to College Life with a Summer Bridge Program

ENpower offers students the tools and campus resources needed as they transition from high school to college. The program provides students the opportunity to gain skills that support good study habits needed in a challenging discipline like engineering.

Sessions will be held on:

  • career planning
  • time management
  • study skills
  • stress management

Current students will talk about life as an engineering student on the CSU campus, and can answer your questions about faculty or undergraduate research. Read a CSU Source article about the program here.

When is ENpower Bridge?

The workshop begins each year the Sunday prior to Ram Welcome for entering freshmen. Participants should plan to arrive on campus that day between 8 a.m. and 1 p.m. and move directly into their permanently assigned residence hall. At 4 p.m. on Sunday, participants and their parent(s) will meet for dinner to get acquainted with other students and prepare for the week.

Why attend ENpower?

The workshop is an investment in a student’s future, and helps students succeed in the classroom during their freshman year. Participants will meet and make friends with other students interested in engineering. Experience shows that support groups offer an important advantage in successfully obtaining a university degree.

What will participants learn?

Along with the sessions mentioned above, there will be further classroom sessions on how to succeed in math and chemistry. 

Is there any cost to attend?

There is no fee to participate in the four day program, and all materials for the workshops are included. Participants will need to provide their own transportation to the CSU campus.

What is expected of students in the program?

Students are expected to fully participate in ENpower programming, and continue in the mentoring program during their freshman year. Space is limited and will be given to students willing to commit to the program.

Contact us

For further information, please reach out to the Coordinator for Undergraduate DEI Programs and Success Initiatives Claudia Hernandez at Claudia.Hernandez@colostate.edu 
or 720-383-4825.