Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion Contacts

Melissa Burt, Assistant Dean for Diversity and Inclusion

Faculty, staff, and graduate students; college strategy and development

Assistant Dean for Diversity and Inclusion Dr. Melissa Burt

Dr. Melissa Burt was appointed as Assistant Dean for Diversity and Inclusion after a decade of experience leading diversity and inclusion initiatives with an NSF Science and Technology Center, headquartered in the Department of Atmospheric Science.

If you are a student or employee in the Walter Scott, Jr. College of Engineering, Melissa can be a resource. Please reach out to her at Melissa.Burt@colostate.edu or 970-491-8706.

Engineering Success Center

Claudia Hernandez, Outreach and Equity Coordinator

Current students, student organizations, summer program initiatives, and outreach

Outreach and Equity Coordinator Claudia Hernandez

Claudia (pronounced CLOUD-ee-ah) Hernandez is the Outreach and Equity Coordinator, working in the Don and Susie Law Engineering Success Center. Claudia works with with the diversity programs in engineering, reaching out to current students on campus and outreach in the local community.

If you are a student in the college, or are interested in outreach opportunities, please reach out to Claudia at Claudia.Hernandez@colostate.edu or 970-491-7088.

Susan Benzel, Scott Scholars Program Coodinator, Office of the Dean, Walter Scott Jr. College of Engineering, Colorado State University, November 4, 2019

First Generation student initiatives, Scott Scholars

Scott Scholars Program Coordinator Susan Benzel

Susan Benzel works with the best and brightest engineering students to help them achieve their maximum potential, and become models of excellence in leadership.

If you are a first generation student, or are the first in your family to potentially attend college, please reach out to Susan at Susan.Benzel@colostate.edu or 970-491-1058.

Department Diversity and Inclusion Committee

Please visit department pages for full contact information. Chairs of the Departmental/Program Diversity and Inclusion committees sit on the College-level Diversity, Equity and Inclusion Committee

Atmospheric Science/CIRA

Sue van den Heever (co-chair), Charlotte DeMott (co-chair), Bernie Connell , Daniela Faggiani Dias, Dave Randall, Sagar Rathod, Matt Rogers , Alex Sokolowsky, Sarah Tisdale (ex-officio)

Chemical and Biological Engineering

Ashok Prasad (chair), Margarita Herrera-Alonso, Claire Lavelle, Brian Munsky

Civil and Environmental Engineering

Joe Scalia (chair), Rebecca Atadero, Ellison Carter, Susan De Long, Shannon Miller

Dean’s Office and college units

Ellen Brennan-Pierce, Russ Dickerson, Caiti Glasgo, Beth Hallmark, Lisa Metz, Karen Mueller, Cathy Smith, Shannon Wagner, Renee Hirschenhofer

Electrical and Computer Engineering

Alauna Sutton, Ali Pezeshki, Mahdi Nikdast, Priscilla Vazquez, Jordan Jeski

Mechanical Engineering

Jason Quinn (chair), Sam Bechara, Tami Bond

Systems Engineering

Tom Bradley (chair), Ingrid Bridge, Katharyn Peterman, Chrissy Charny, Mary Gomez, Steve Simske, Jim Cale, Kamran Shahroudi, Dan Herber, Cailin Simpson, Hugh Nguyen, Erika Miller