News & Announcements
Ellison-CarterEllison Carter Receives Powe Award

Dr. Ellison Carter has been awarded a Ralph E. Powe Junior Faculty Enhancement Award to provide seed money for research. These awards are intended to enrich the research and professional growth of young faculty and result in new funding opportunities. Dr. Carter is currently conducting a study to examine the impacts of air pollution from […]

ChavezJose Chavez is Appointed Editor-in-Chief

Dr. Jose Chavez has been appointed Editor in Chief for Springer’s “Irrigation Science” journal effective May 15, 2018. Dr. Chavez previously served as Associated Editor for this journal. Chavez has about eighteen years of experience in irrigated agriculture research and nine and a half years of experience in teaching and extension activities. His expertise is […]

Joe ScaliaJoseph Scalia has been nominated as an ASTM International Emerging Professional

Dr. Joseph Scalia has been nominated as an ASTM International Emerging Professional (EP) and has been approved to attend the ASTM International technical committee meetings taking place in San Diego, California on June 25-26 2018.  He was singled out by ASTM as having demonstrated the potential to be an industry leader in his field. As […]

KaranUKZN Appoints Karan Venayagamoorthy as an Honorary Professor

Karan Venayagamoorthy has been appointed as an Honorary Professor in the School of Engineering at the University of KwaZulu-Natal (UKZN) in South Africa. Karan received his BS and MS degrees in Civil Engineering from UKZN. The honorary professor is given to a distinguished teacher and/or researcher who is not a member of the faculty of […]

Neil GriggNeil Grigg Joins Public Health Research Task Force

Neil Grigg has become a member of a new task force to assess CSU’s current research assets in the public health arena. The Public Health Task Force will be charged by the VPR to conduct this assessment and to provide relevant data, observations, and recommendations for a fruitful path forward. These findings will be shared […]

MahmoudHussam Mahmoud Nominated to the U.S. National Academies of Sciences Conference Organizing Committee

Hussam Mahmoud has been nominated by the U.S. National Academies of Sciences, Engineering, and Medicine to the Organizing Committee for the 2018 Symposium Arab-American Frontiers of Science, Engineering and Medicine symposium in Kuwait. He will be co-chairing a session titled: Next Generation Buildings & Infrastructure. The organizing committee members are selected based not only on […]

Bailey_KiviDr. Ryan Bailey and Graduate Student Saman Tavakoli Kivi receive IAHS Tison Award

The International Association of Hydrological Sciences awarded Dr. Bailey and Saman Tavakoli Kivi the 2018 IAHS Tison award for young hydrologists for their paper “Method for estimating available groundwater volume of small coral islands,” Hydrological Sciences Journal, 62:14, 2381-2392, DOI: 10.1080/02626667.2017.1382703” This award, established in 1982, aims to promote excellence in research by young hydrologists, […]

Ashwin DhanasekarAshwin Dhanasekar Joins the Water Research Foundation

Ashwin Dhanasekar, Research Scientist in the Environmental Engineering program with Dr. Ken Carlson, has joined the Water Research Foundation in Denver, Colorado as a Research Project Manager. The Water Research Foundation is a not-for-profit research cooperative whose mission is to advance the science of water to protect public health and the environment. The Foundation is […]

Joe ScaliaJoseph Scalia Invited to Deliver Young Lecture

Dr. Joseph Scalia has been invited to deliver an invited Young Lecture on the topic of his choice for the 8th International Congress on Environmental Geotechnics (8ICEG). The conference will be held on October 28-November 1, 2018 in Hangzhou, China. The nomination of Young Lecturers was finalized by the Organizing Committee of 8ICEG after consulting […]

Bruce EllingwoodBruce Ellingwood Receives 2018 Geerhard Haaijer Award

Dr. Bruce Ellingwood was notified that he has been selected to receive the 2018 Geerhard Haaijer Award for Excellence in Education from the American Institute of Steel Construction. This award is given “in special recognition to individuals who have had a profound and lasting impact in developing a unique application for engineering practice or in […]