News & Announcements
Ashwin DhanasekarAshwin Dhanasekar Joins the Water Research Foundation

Ashwin Dhanasekar, Research Scientist in the Environmental Engineering program with Dr. Ken Carlson, has joined the Water Research Foundation in Denver, Colorado as a Research Project Manager. The Water Research Foundation is a not-for-profit research cooperative whose mission is to advance the science of water to protect public health and the environment. The Foundation is […]

Joe ScaliaJoseph Scalia Invited to Deliver Young Lecture

Dr. Joseph Scalia has been invited to deliver an invited Young Lecture on the topic of his choice for the 8th International Congress on Environmental Geotechnics (8ICEG). The conference will be held on October 28-November 1, 2018 in Hangzhou, China. The nomination of Young Lecturers was finalized by the Organizing Committee of 8ICEG after consulting […]

Bruce EllingwoodBruce Ellingwood Receives 2018 Geerhard Haaijer Award

Dr. Bruce Ellingwood was notified that he has been selected to receive the 2018 Geerhard Haaijer Award for Excellence in Education from the American Institute of Steel Construction. This award is given “in special recognition to individuals who have had a profound and lasting impact in developing a unique application for engineering practice or in […]

Suren ChenSuren Chen Elected to ASCE Fellow

Dr. Suren Chen has been elected to ASCE Fellow effective January 31, 2018. This status must be attained by professional accomplishments via application and election by the Membership Application Review Committee (MARC). Minimum requirements for fellowship inlcude 10 years of responsible charge in the grade of ASCE member and a P.E. or P.L.S. License. 

Bailey_ShackelfordFaculty Published Papers Recognized

Several recently published papers co-authored by Department faculty have been selected for special recognition by the journals in which the papers were published. Dr. Ryan Bailey (left) co-authored a paper entitled, “Method for Estimating Available Groundwater Volume of Small Coral Islands” that has been recognized as a Feature Article by the Hydrological Sciences Journal ( […]

Bailey_Bareither_ScaliaThree Faculty Join Editorial Boards

Three Department faculty are joining the editorial boards of three prestigious journals. Dr. Ryan Bailey (left) is joining the editorial board of the Journal of Contaminant Hydrology, published by Elsevier, Amsterdam. Dr. Chris Bareither (middle) is joining the editorial board of the Journal of Geotechnical and Geoenvironmental Engineering, published by the American Society of Civil […]

KaranKaran Venayagamoorthy receives the Meroney Family Chi Epsilon Faculty Teaching Award

On December 11, Karan was awarded this award which was established by our Emeritus Professor Bob Meroney and his wife Joan. This Fund was made possible with a cash gift from Envirodyne Systems, Inc. on behalf of Dr. Robert and Joan Meroney in May 2016. Other gifts or bequests may also be allocated to this […]

Neil GriggNeil Grigg appointed Adjunct Professor for the Colorado School of Public Health

Congratulations to Neil Grigg for his appointment to the rank of Adjunct Professor for the Colorado School of Public Health, Department of Environmental and Occupational Health as approved by the Provost of the University of Colorado, Denver. The appointment was effective December 1, 2017.

MahmoudBeyond wind speed: A new measure for predicting hurricane impacts

Hussam Mahmoud and graduate student Stephanie Pilkington develop new approach to assessing the resiliency of coastal communities to hurricanes. Mahmoud and Pilkington’s impact model uses artificial neural networks and machine learning to “teach” a computer program how to predict a pending storm’s damage, by dollar figure.   Read the full story.

3-Team-TaylorCIVE 525 students Create Hydraulic Ram Pump

Each year, students in CIVE 525 Water Engineering for International Development compete to design the most efficient hydraulic ram pump. The pump needs to convey water from the basement to the roof of the three-story Engineering Building without any external source of power. This winning team this year was: Wesley Back, Kristen Cognac, Taylor Hogan, […]