News & Announcements
Tiezheng TongNew Faculty this Fall 2017

Dr. Tiezheng Tong joined the Department of Civil and Environmental Engineering as an assistant professor in August 2017. He received his Ph.D. degree in Civil and Environmental Engineering from Northwestern University in 2015. Before joining CSU, he worked as a postdoc research associate in the Department of Chemical and Environmental Engineering at Yale University. He […]

CSU Water Center announces 7 Grant Recipients

“The CSU Water Center has selected four multi-disciplinary teams and three individual faculty members as recipients of competitive grants totaling $129,553 for 2017-18. The seven projects involve 25 faculty members and eight students from across campus. True to the mission of the Water Center, these projects involve water research, teaching, and engagement through interdisciplinary collaboration […]


E-Days was a huge success for the entire College this year with a total of 93 senior design projects presented by teams ranging from 3 members to 10 members. For the department’s projects see the slide show below. E-Days is also a time for the College and Departments to recognize outstanding graduating seniors. Two students […]

Rob Ettema featured in Engineering Insight

Rob Ettema, Harold Short Endowed Professor, was featured in Engineering Insight, the professional magazine of the Institution of Professional Engineers New Zealand. Read the full story (see p. 15 and 24)

MahmoudDr. Hussam Mahmoud receives AISC's Early Career Faculty Award

The American Institute of Steel Construction selected Hussam Mahmoud for the Early Career Faculty Award which will be bestowed next March at the annual Steel Conference. This highly competitive award provides recognition to individuals who demonstrate promise in the areas of structural steel research, teaching and/or other contributions to the structural steel industry. This award […]

Dr. Venayagamoorthy and students invited to speak at 69th Annual Meeting of the APS Division of Fluid Dynamics

Dr. Venayagamoorthy and two of his PhD students have been invited this weekend to Portland Oregon for the 69th Annual Meeting of the APS Division of Fluid Dynamics where they will all be giving talks at this prestigious event. Read more about this event.

CSU Team Wins Award for Irrigation Scheduling Tool

The American Society of Agronomy has awarded a 2016 ASA Educational Materials Award to a team of CSU faculty and staff for their irrigation scheduling tool, WISE (Water Irrigation Scheduler for Efficient Application). WISE is a cloud-based application hosted on the eRAMS platform. The goal of this tool is to make irrigation scheduling both convenient […]

Arabi_awardDr. Arabi Receives the COE George T. Abell Mid-Career Faculty Award

Dr. Mazdak Arabi, Borland Professor of Water Resources in the Department of Civil and Environmental Engineering, is the recipient of the 2016 College of Engineering’s George T. Abell Outstanding Mid-Career Faculty Award. Mazdak was recognized for his exceptional ability and propensity to procure large, multi-disciplinary and multi-institutional center-based research funding, such as the Water Sustainability […]


Dr. Aditi Bhaskar specializes in changes to hydrologic systems from urban development, with a focus on interactions between groundwater, surface water, and engineered stormwater and water distribution systems. Dr. Bhaskar received a Sc.B. in Geology-Physics/Math from Brown University in Providence, Rhode Island, and a Ph.D. in Environmental Engineering from University of Maryland, Baltimore County. She […]


Dr. Gaofeng Jia specializes in natural hazard risk assessment/mitigation, robust analysis/design of complex engineering systems and high performance structures, risk-informed decision making, modeling of aging and deterioration of infrastructure, as well as automated condition assessment of civil infrastructure with the ultimate goal of enhancing infrastructure resilience. His research brings together the versatility of generalized simulation-based […]