News & Announcements
Chavez AwardJose Chavez Receives 2019 Merriam Award from USCID

José L. Chávez was presented with the 2019 USCID Merriam Award on December 26th by Larry D. Stephens, Executive Vice President of USCID. The announcement of this honor was given at the November, 2019 USCID Conference in Reno, Nevada.  The awarding committee is from the International Committee on Irrigation and Drainage. The United States Committee […]

Venayagamoorthy&DeanMcLean croppedWSCOE Honors Karan Venayagamoorthy for Teaching, Mentoring and Service

On November 4, 2019 the Dean McLean of the Walter Scott, Jr. College of Engineering awarded Professor Karan Venayagamoorthy with the George T. Abell Faculty Award for Teaching, Mentoring and Service. Venayagamoorthy said the award is validating because he considers teaching and mentoring students to be the highest calling in his job as a professor, […]

Hussam MahmoudHussam Mahmoud and Susan Palu Examine Effects of Climate Change on U.S. Infrastructure

Professor Hussam Mahmoud and Susan Palu study linking the potential impacts of climate change with the structural integrity of thousands of bridges transecting America’s highways and towns. Mahmoud’s analysis demonstrates a need to rethink the nation’s priority order of bridge repair, as climate change looms and infrastructure funding remains limited. The research is published Oct. […]

PinarPinar Omur-Ozbek and Students Receive Recognition from EPA for Drinking Water Project

The Thompson School District along with Dr. Pinar Omur-Ozbek and her students performed a drinking water testing program which was the only project recognized in the EPA’s six-state Region 8 in response to the EPA announcement of its proposed updates to lead and copper rules to better protect children and at-risk communities. Currently there is […]

Thomas  SaleThomas Sale API Document Translated into Chinese and Spanish

Thomas Sale announces the publication of the second edition of his API document on managing risks at a light non-aqueous phase liquid (LNAPL) site has been translated into Chinese and Spanish.   The 1st Edition had over 10,000 articles circulated.  (Sale, Tom; Harley Hopkins; and Andrew Kirkman (2018). Managing Risk at LNAPL Sites, American Petroleum Institute […]

Marjan SadeghiFirst Ph.D. in Construction Engineering and Management Awarded

Marjan Sadeghi Receives First Ph.D. in CEE and Construction Management’s Interdisciplinary Construction Engineering and Management Degree.  Sadeghi chose the CSU program because of both the construction management program, the integrated project design and the building information modeling.  Her research has garnered several awards and scholarships.  Read More

Neil S. GriggNeil Grigg Receives the 2019 SWIM Industry Research Award

Neil Grigg will be presented with the 2019 Sustainable Water Infrastructure Management (SWIM) Center Industry Research Award at the SWIM Annual Conference on Wednesday, December 11, 2019 at Virginia Tech in Arlington, Virginia.  SWIM is an organization that focuses on bringing together the global water industry to improve the performance, sustainability, and resiliency of existing […]

EllingwoodBruceStanford Citation Index Ranks Bruce Ellingwood Sixth in Civil Engineering

CSU Civil and Environmental Engineering Professor Bruce Ellingwood ranked as the sixth most-cited civil engineering author in a Stanford University worldwide citation survey, published in PLoS. Scopus citation data for 6 million scientists in 22 major fields and 176 sub-fields were analyzed. 100,000 scientists were sorted and ranked by a composite point index, excluding self-citations. […]

Hussam MahmoudHussam Mahmoud's Research on Community Response to Disasters Recognized

The College of Engineering at New Mexico State University has invited Hussam Mahmoud to speak on his research on vulnerability of communities to extreme events.   ASEE First Bell also recognized Hussam Mahmoud’s research on the development of novel computational models aimed at modeling the response of communities to multi-hazard disasters, including understanding the societal […]

Pennock AwardJorge Ramirez is Awarded the CSU Oliver P. Pennock Distinguished Service Award

Jorge Ramirez received the Colorado State University Oliver P. Pennock Distinguished Service Award from Provost Dan Bush at the Spring 2019 Celebrate! Colorado State Awards.  This award recognizes meritorious and outstanding achievement over a five-year period by full-time members of the academic faculty; established as a tribute to Professor Pennock, who served as a distinguished […]