Walter Scott, Jr. College of Engineering


Office: C101C Engineering Building                              Lab: B110 Engineering Building
Phone: 970-491-3537
Home page

Dr. Branislav M. Notaros

Professor of Electrical and Computer Engineering

University Distinguished Teaching Scholar

Director of Electromagnetics Laboratory


Branislav M. Notaros is a Professor of ECE, Director of Electromagnetics Laboratory, and University Distinguished Teaching Scholar at Colorado State University. Previously, he held assistant/associate-professor positions at the University of Massachusetts Dartmouth and University of Belgrade. His research contributions are in computational electromagnetics (CEM), higher order methods, all sorts of CEM methodologies, techniques, implementations, and applications, adaptive refinement, uncertainty quantification, in-situ and remote sensing of precipitation, MRI-RF antennas/coils, EM/antennas/systems for biomedical applications, and electromagnetics education. His research has been supported by about 20 major NSF, DoD, NASA, and NIH grants. His publications include nearly 300 book chapters, journal articles, and conference papers, and textbooks “Electromagnetics” (2010) and “MATLAB-Based Electromagnetics” (2013) with Pearson Prentice Hall and “Conceptual Electromagnetics” (2017) with CRC Press.  

Prof. Notaros is Fellow of the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE) and of the Applied Computational Electromagnetics Society (ACES). He serves as General Chair of the 2022 IEEE International Symposium on Antennas and Propagation and USNC-URSI National Radio Science Meeting and served as General Chair of the 2018 International Applied Computational Electromagnetics Society Symposium. He is Track Editor for the IEEE Transactions on Antennas and Propagation. He serves as President of ACES, Chair of the US National Committee Commission B of the International Union of Radio Science (URSI), and member of the IEEE Antennas and Propagation Society Administrative Committee. He was the recipient of the 2005 IEEE MTT-S Microwave Prize, 1999 IEE Marconi Premium, 2019 ACES Technical Achievement Award, 1999 URSI Young Scientist Award, 2005 UMass Dartmouth Scholar of the Year Award, 2012 CSU System Board of Governors Excellence in Undergraduate Teaching Award, 2014 and 2018 CSU Provost’s N. Preston Davis Award for Instructional Innovation, 2012 IEEE Region 5 Outstanding Engineering Educator Award, 2014 Carnegie Foundation for the Advancement of Teaching Colorado Professor of the Year Award, 2015 American Society for Engineering Education ECE Distinguished Educator Award, and 2015 IEEE Undergraduate Teaching Award.


  • 1988 Dipl.Ing. (B.S.) in Electrical Engineering, University of Belgrade, Sch. of Elec. Eng., Yugoslavia
  • 1992 M.S. in Electrical Engineering, University of Belgrade, School of Electrical Eng., Yugoslavia
  • 1995 Ph.D. in Electrical Engineering, University of Belgrade, School of Electrical Eng., Yugoslavia

Research Interests

  • Computational Electromagnetics
  • Higher Order CEM
  • All Sorts of CEM Methods and Implementations
  • Adaptive Refinement and Uncertainty Quantification 
  • Applied EM at All Frequencies
  • In-Situ and Remote Sensing of Precipitation
  • MRI-RF Antennas/Coils
  • Biomedical EM/Antennas/Systems
  • EM Education