News & Announcements
CarlsonDr. Ken Carlson received $500k gift from Noble company

Dr. Carlson has received a $500k gift from the Noble company to the Center for Energy Water Sustainability in support of the continued development of the Colorado Water Watch that will be released to the public at next month’s Natural Gas Symposium in Denver.

Jorge-RamirezDr. Ramirez received the 2013 Editors' Choice Award

Dr. Jorge Ramirez has been recognized for his outstanding research and scholarship. His paper, “Projected freshwater withdrawals in the United States under a changing climate,” published in 2013 in Water Resources Research, will receive the 2013 Editors’ Choice Award. This award is given to about 1% of published articles in any calendar year and is […]

MahmoudDr. Mahmoud received the 2014 Robert J. Dexter Memorial

Dr. Hussam Mahmoud will be the recipient of the 2014 Robert J. Dexter Memorial, which is an extremely prestigious award given by the American Iron and Steel Institute (AISI) Steel Market Development Institute Steel Bridge Task Force and the AASHTO Technical Committee for Structural Steel Design. The program was instituted in 2005 in memory of […]

KaranDr. Venayagamoorthy received the Frenkial Award by American Physical Society

Dr. Karan Venayagamoorthy has received the prestigious Frenkial Award from the American Physical Society (APS) for his paper, “Relevance of the Thorpe length scale in stably stratified turbulent flow,” published in 2013 in the prestigious journal, Physics of Fluids. The citation for the award reads, “For new and significant insights into scaling laws for stratified […]

CRISWELLDr. Criswell received the 2014 Tau Beta Pi Outstanding Advisor Award

Congratulations to Dr. Marvin Criswell for being selected as the 2014 Tau Beta Pi Outstanding Advisor. Dr. Criswell is the 21st awardee of a program dedicated to promoting excellence in engineering education. A $1,000 cash award will be given in his name to the Dean McLean’s discretionary fund and he is invited to attend the […]

Steven-AbtDr. Steven Abt presented a Lifetime Achievement Award

Steven Abt, Emeritus Professor of Civil and Environmental Engineering at Colorado State University, was presented a Lifetime Achievement Award by the American Society of Civil Engineers – Environmental and Water Resources Institute during its annual meeting in Portland, OR. He was cited for his significant contributions to the society, the profession and the nation. Abt […]

MahmoudDr. Hussam Mahmoud joins the School of Biomedical Engineering

Dr. Hussam Mahmoud now holds a joint faculty appointment with the School of Biomedical Engineering at CSU. His main bioengineering research is aimed at developing probabilistic frameworks for the evaluation of the risk of failure of biological tissues on the component and system levels. Dr. Mahmoud’s current research focuses on mitigating risk of premature labor […]

Dr. Ken Carlson debates the merits of fracking

On May 4th, Joseph Romm, fellow at the Center for American Progress and founder of Climate Progress, and Dr. Ken Carlson debated whether fracking can be a clean and safe source of energy and if it can help transition the country towards renewable energy resources. Watch this fascinating debate organized by the Real News Network, […]

2013-14 Academic Year Faculty and Staff Awards

Don Silar – Outstanding Academic Partner Jess Cromley – Staff Award for Excellence Dan Baker – Outstanding Research Scientist/Instructor Karan Venayagamoorthy – Faculty Award for Excellence in Teaching Jeff Niemann – Faculty Award for Excellence in Service John van de Lindt – Faculty Award for Excellence in Research Tim Gates – Outstanding Faculty Performance

Engineering Days 2014 Awards

Paul Heyliger has been awarded the College of Engineering’s Outstanding Faculty Member by the Engineering College Council. The CEE Department’s student winners are: Wenyuan Tang received the Civil Engineering Achievement Award Jacob Leins received the Outstanding Civil Engineering Student Award Tyler Dell received the Ralph Parshall Award Ryne Schroder received the Civil Engineering Student Leadership […]