Walter Scott, Jr. College of Engineering

Tami Bond, Scott Presidential Chair in Energy, Environment and Health and Professor, Department of Mechanical Engineering


Office: Engineering A103G

Pride SafeZone sticker

Dr. Tami Bond


Mechanical Engineering

Scott Presidential Chair in Energy, Environment and Health

Dr. Bond is the Walter Scott, Jr. Presidential Chair in Energy, Environment and Health. Her research has followed a thread from combustion, to atmospheric chemistry and climate, to technology change and future scenarios, to the intimate relationship between technology and human choice. Her work spans considerations as small as a particle’s skin and as large as a national transportation system in the quest to characterize the dance between humans, their energy use, and the atmosphere and climate.

Dr. Bond first earned two degrees in mechanical engineering before succumbing to an interdisciplinary Ph.D. and pursuing a NOAA Climate and Global Change post-doc. She came to CSU in 2019 after 16 years in Civil and Environmental Engineering at the University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign. Dr. Bond is a Fellow of the American Geophysical Union and a 2014 John D. and Catherine T. MacArthur Fellow.


  • Ph.D. 2000, University of Washington— Special Individual (Interdisciplinary)
  • M.S. 1995, University of California at Berkeley—Mechanical Engineering
  • B.S. 1993, University of Washington—Mechanical Engineering


Research Interests

  • Household Energy Provision in Rural and Peri-Urban Areas
  • Human and Infrastructure Constraints on Emission Mitigation
  • Physical, Optical and Chemical Properties of Particles
  • Emission Measurement and Characterization, Especially Remote Sources
  • Air Pollutant Emission Inventories of The Past, Present and Future

Honors and Awards

  • University of Washington, College of Engineering Diamond Award (2018)
  • Outstanding Publication Award, American Association for Aerosol Research (2017)
  • ISI/Clairvate Highly Cited Researcher (2015-18 (4 years))
  • American Geophysical Union, Fellow (2015)
  • Nathan M. Newmark Distinguished Professor (2014-present)