Arthur T. Corey Scholarship


Arthur “Art” T. Corey, emeritus professor at Colorado State University, worked as a civil engineer at Colorado State from 1956 to 1958 before becoming a founding member of the Asian Institute of Technology in Thailand. He returned to Colorado State in 1962 as a professor of agricultural engineering and served there until 1977. After stints at universities in Oregon, Sri Lanka, Ireland, Michigan and Alabama, he returned to Colorado State in 1994 as a faculty affiliate and professor emeritus.

Corey obtained his master’s degree at Colorado State (then Colorado A&M) and his doctoral degree at Rutgers University. He began his professional career as a physicist in the petroleum industry. His research and teaching at Colorado State was in multi-phase flow in soils and porous rocks, ground water hydraulics, irrigation, agricultural drainage and engineering mechanics.

The Arthur T. Corey Scholarship is awarded annually to a graduate student who shows interest in agricultural or environmental engineering and demonstrates financial need and merit.

portrait of man


  • Full-time graduate in College of Engineering
  • Show interest in agricultural or environmental engineering
  • Demonstrate financial need and merit


  • Amount varies each year

Application Guide

  • Application deadline is in early March, annually. For specific dates, please refer to Colorado State University’s list of opportunities.

Past Recipients

  • Olivia K. Bojan (2017)
  • Kayvan Karimi Askarani (2016)
  • Molly C. McLaughlin (2015)
  • Emily B. Stockwell (2014)
  • Marc W. Chalfant (2013)
  • Anna M. Skinner (2012)
  • Alison M. Hawkins (2011)
  • Kevin M. McCoy (2010)
  • Kevin M. McCoy (2009)
  • Azadeh Bolhari (2008)
  • Lee A. Doner (2007)
  • Kristin M. Sample Lord (2006)
  • Gabriel C. Iltis (2005)
  • David Castelbaum (2004)
  • Mitchell R. Olson (2004)
  • Geoffrey R. Taylor (2003)
  • Michael B. Gossenauer (2001)
  • Angela L. Kurr (2000)
  • Kristina S. Daugherty (1999)
  • Corinne J. Wardell (1998)
  • Michael J. Vance (1997)
  • Kevin A. Flikkema (1996)
  • Kevin J. Otto (1994)
  • Brady S. McElroy (1993)
  • Brady S. McElroy (1992)
  • Timothy R. Knorr (1991)
  • Kirk R. Thompson (1989)
  • Kirk R. Thompson (1988)
  • Walter L. Niccoli (1987)
  • Steven M. Rogowski (1987)