## THE UNIVERSITY OF ADELAIDE



# Annual Commemoration 1987

Third Ceremony

## THE BONYTHON HALL

Wednesday, 29 April, 1987 at 2.30 p.m.

#### Scholars and Prizewinners

#### FACULTY OF ENGINEERING

LUKE N. ANDERSEN: The R. J. Jennings Memorial Prize for Mechanical Engineering Design.

RODERICK C. BRYANT: The William Culross Prize in Electrical and Electronic Engineering.

ANDREW CARUANA: The Shell Prize for Mechanical Engineering (shared).

SITARAMAN CHANDRA SEKHAR: A University of Adelaide Scholarship in Mechanical Engineering.

EDWIN K. P. CHONG: The Chamber of Commerce and Industry Prize in Electrical Engineering; The Gerard Industries 'Clipsal' Prize (shared); The Chamber of Commerce and Industry Prize in Electronic Engineering (shared); The Sir William Goodman Scholarship.

STEPHEN G. DARBY: The James Hardie Award in Civil Engineering.

SPIROS DIMAS: The Australian Welding Institute Prize.

ROBERT H. ELLIOTT: The Electricity Trust of South Australia Prize (shared).

DAVID C. GATES: The Gerard Industries 'Clipsal' Prize (shared).

PETER K. GAYEN: The ICI Australia Operations Prize in Chemical Engineering Design; The Rutter Jewell-Thomas Medal and Prize.

RICHARD S. HOLLWAY: The Society of Automotive Engineers-Australasia Prize.

STEVEN P. JUDD: The Shell Prize for Mechanical Engineering (shared).

EMMANUAL KAVARNOS: A University of Adelaide Scholarship in Mechanical Engineering.

NICHOLAS J. G. LOW: The Institution of Engineers Australia Award; The Lokan Prize.

NICHOLAS A. MITCHELL: The BHP Steel International Group-Long Products Division Prize.

WILLIAM J. MITCHELL: The Western Mining Corporation Ltd. Prize for Chemical Engineering IVB. ROWAN P. MUNCHENBERG: The Electricity Trust Prize in Elec-

trical Power Engineering.

MUHAMMED RASHID: A Commonwealth Postgraduate Research Award in Chemical Engineering.

JONATHAN J. SCHUTZ: The E. V. Clark Prize for Electrical Engineering; The Philips Industries Holdings Ltd. Prize in Elements of Electronics.

KIM D. SCOTT: The Petroleum Refineries (Australia) Pty. Ltd. Prize in Mechanical Engineering; The Tubemakers of Australia Ltd. Prize for Engineering Management.