Best of the best: Outstanding teachers to be honored

CSU will honor its very best teachers March 27 at the annual Best Teacher Awards banquet in the Lory Student Center Theater.

This year’s winners include representatives from five colleges. Nominations are accepted from students, faculty and alumni, and winners are selected by a committee of students, faculty and staff, and alumni.

The Best Teacher Awards are sponsored by the CSU Alumni Association

Christopher Snow

Walter Scott, Jr. College of Engineering, Department of Chemical and Biological Engineering

As an MIT chemistry student originally interested in molecular nanotechnology, Christopher Snow became a dedicated undergraduate researcher in computational structural biology. He completed a Ph.D. in biophysics in 2006 at Stanford University, where he was a Howard Hughes Fellow studying the biophysics of protein folding. Before arriving at CSU, Snow was a Jane Coffin Childs Fellow and a KAUST Research Fellow in the laboratory of recent Nobel Laureate Frances Arnold. Snow also spent time at the California Institute of Technology developing software for computational protein engineering, designing libraries of cellulase enzymes and studying protein recombination using crystallography. Since coming to CSU in 2011, Snow has continued to pioneer computational protein engineering methods and research in the use of engineered protein crystals as molecularly precise scaffolds for diverse application areas.

“It is difficult to summarize all that Dr. Snow does for his students – his giving seems incalculable. Perhaps, however, what distinguishes Dr. Snow most is not what he does, but how much he cares.”

– Peter Meyer (’20)

Story by Tony Phifer
Full story: