Dr. Jeffrey D Niemann


Dr. Jeffrey Niemann is an Associate Professor in the Department of Civil and Environmental Engineering and the Faoro Professor of Water Resources. He earned a B.S. with High Distinction from the University of Colorado at Boulder and M.S. and Ph.D. degrees from the Massachusetts Institute of Technology. Dr. Niemann's research interests are in hydrology and geomorphology. His research has included: analyzing and downscaling soil moisture patterns, modeling the hydrologic response of urban and natural basins, characterizing river network properties, estimating uncertainty in sediment transport models, modeling snowpack and frozen ground, developing methods for flood inundation mapping, evaluating evapotranspiration from shallow groundwater, modeling long-term river basin evolution, and assessing climate change impacts on regional hydrology. Dr. Niemann was awarded the Presidential Early Career Award for Scientists and Engineers at the White House in 2002 and was appointed the Borland Chair of Hydrology in 2010. At the undergraduate level, Dr. Niemann has taught CIVE 202 Numerical Modeling and Risk Analysis and CIVE 322 Basic Hydrology. At the graduate level, he has taught CIVE 520 Physical Hydrology, CIVE/WR 524 Modeling Watershed Hydrology, CIVE 525 Water Engineering for International Development, and CIVE 724 River Basin Morphology. In 2007, 2011, and 2016, Dr. Niemann was honored with the Faculty Award for Excellence in Teaching by the Department of Civil and Environmental Engineering. Dr. Niemann's service activities have included involvement in the Consortium of Universities for the Advancement of Hydrologic Science, Inc., (CUAHSI), membership on grant review panels for NSF and NASA, and chairing the university's International Development Studies Board. He has also contributed to several projects to improve the drinking water and wastewater systems for rural communities in Kenya, Gabon, Guatemala, El Salvador, and elsewhere. In 2011, Dr. Niemann was honored with the George T. Abell Award for Outstanding International Contributions and the President's Volunteer Service Award.

Return to profile