Dr. V. Chandrasekar


Dr. Chandrasekar (Chandra) has made pioneering contributions in the area of "Polarimetric Radar Observations of the Atmosphere". Dr Chandra has extensive experience in Radar System Design, Radar Network Development, DSP Design as well as RF Communication Systems. He has contributed significantly to the areas weather radar and applications to Atmospheric Sciences. He also conducts research on related topics including Image Processing, Neural Network Applications and Large Scale System Simulation. He has organized and participated in six large multi-agency, national level experiments involving many radars, aircraft and ground instrumentation. He is an avid experimentalist conducting special experiments to collect in-situ observations to verify the new techniques and technologies. Dr Chandra is co-author of two textbooks, Polarimetric and Doppler Weather Radar (by Cambridge University Press) and Probability and Random Processes (by McGraw Hill). He has been a PI or Co-PI on several national level programs such as the the Advanced Communication Technology Satellite (ACTS) program at CSU, DARPA NGI program, and the NASA TRMM mission. He is currently a CO-PI of the CSU-CHILL radar facility and plays an important role in maintaining it as one of the most advanced meteorological radar systems in the world available for research, and continues to work actively with the CSU-CHILL radar supporting its research and education mission. He is a Co-PI and the associate director of the NSF Engineering Research Center , CASA ( Center for Collaborative Adaptive Sensing of the Atmosphere ), where he provides leadership for the sensing research in the center. He was elected Fellow of IEEE in recognition of his contributions to " Quantitative Remote Sensing". He is a member of the National Academy of Sciences panel on " Future Radar Systems beyond NEXRAD " as well as the panel to assess "NEXRAD Flash Flood Forecasting Capabilities at Sulphur Mountain, California". He has won numerous awards including, the NASA Technical innovation Award , 2002, Cermack Outstanding Advisor Award, 2001, Abell Outstanding Researcher Award, 2001, Distinguished Minority Service Award , 1999, Deans Council Award for Excellence in Teaching and Research, 1996, Halliburton Foundation Young Faculty Research Excellence Award, 1993, and Abell Outstanding Research and Graduate Program Award, 2004.

Return to profile