ECE Seminar Series

Joint Electrical and Computer Engineering Department and Computer Science Department Special Seminar

Title: Crowdsourcing to Smartphones: Recruiting an Army of Smartphones for Crowdsensing
Speaker: Dejun Yang
Affiliation: Colorado School of Mines
Day: Wednesday, August 27, 2014
Time: 11:00 am - 12:00 pm
Location: LSC Grey Rock Room

Abstract: Crowdsensing is a new paradigm which takes advantage of the pervasive smartphones to collect and analyze data beyond the scale of what was previously possible. Appropriate incentives are necessary to compensate smartphone users for the resource consumption while participating in crowdsensing. In this talk, I will discuss how to design incentive mechanisms for two crowdsensing models: the platform-centric model, where the platform provides a reward shared by participating users, and the user-centric model, where users have more control over the payment they will receive. For the platform-centric model, I will present an incentive mechanism using a Stackelberg game, where the platform is the leader while the users are the followers. I will show how the platform can predict the users' sensing time and therefore maximize its own utility. For the user-centric model, I will present an auction-based incentive mechanism, which is computationally efficient, individually rational, profitable, and truthful.

Bio: Dejun Yang is the Ben L. Fryrear Assistant Professor of Computer Science in the Department of Electrical Engineering & Computer Science at Colorado School of Mines. He received his Ph.D in Computer Science from Arizona State University in 2013. Before that, he obtained his BS degree in Computer Science from Peking University, China in 2007. His research interests lie broadly in Algorithmic Game Theory, Incentive Mechanism Design, Algorithm Design, and Optimization, with the focus on applications to Networks, Crowdsourcing, Smart Grid, and Security and Privacy. He has published more than 40 publications in journals including IEEE/ACM Transactions on Networking, IEEE Journal on Selected Areas in Communications, IEEE Transactions on Mobile Computing, and IEEE Transactions on Smart Grid, as well as conferences including ACM MobiCom, ACM MobiHoc, IEEE INFOCOM, IEEE ICNP, IEEE MASS, and IEEE SECON. He has received Best Paper Awards at ICC'2012, ICC'2011, and MASS'2011, as well as a Best Paper Runner-Up at ICNP'2010.