Walter Scott, Jr. Presidential Chairs

James Hurrell, Walter Scott, Jr. Presidential Chair of Environmental Science and Engineering

Climate scientist James Hurrell named first Walter Scott, Jr. Presidential Chair

James Hurrell will join Colorado State University in September 2018 as the Walter Scott, Jr. Presidential Chair in Environmental Science and Engineering. Hurrell will fill the first of four presidential chairs in the Walter Scott, Jr. College of Engineering, endowed by a transformational gift from college alumnus Walter Scott, Jr.

More about James Hurrell….

The Walter Scott, Jr. Presidential Chairs will be nationally and internationally known scholars whose individual research programs span one or more of our Areas of Excellence: Water, Health, Energy, and the Environment. Learn more about the four Areas of Excellence.

Global and regional water cycles
Water infrastructure
Water resources

Biocompatible materials
Biomedical devices
Diagnostic tool development
Public health
Systems and synthetic biology

Advanced combustion technology
Efficient and resilient infrastructure
Impacts of energy
Lasers and optical technologies
Renewable and sustainable energy

Climate studies
Environmental monitoring and management
Hurricanes and severe weather
Life cycle and impacts of trace species
The built environment