Omar Nofal Receives ISEC-11 Conference Best Presentation Award

Omar Nofal Receives ISEC 11 Best Presentation Award Certificate Omar presented NIST’s multi-hazard hurricane damage and risk assessment as a part of the NSF-funded coastline and people project. In this research, they developed a multi-hazard approach to account for the combined impacts of hurricane-induced hazards including surge, wave, and wind on coastal communities. The developed…Read more

Dr. Pierre Julien Research

Overland Flow Research on overland flow has started in Canada as my part of my own thesis and dissertation topics. More recent research on overland flow has been funded by ARO and ARL since 1986. Some of the papers below refer to the overland flow characteristics from raindrop impact to sheet flows, roll waves and…Read more

Dan Baker Publications

Dr. Daniel Baker Publications Journal Articles Journal Articles Top 11 Cubley, E. S., E. E. Richer, D. W. Baker, C. Lamson, T. Hardee, B. P. Bledsoe, and P. Kulchawik. 2021. . River Research and Applications. 2021 10 Casper, A. M. A., R. A. Atadero, A. Hedayati-Mehdiabadi, D. W. Baker. 2021. Linking Engineering Student’s Professional…Read more

CEE Welcomes Nicole Ellison to the Department Faculty

Dr. Nicole Ellison joins the CEE Department as an Assistant Teaching Professor this fall semester.  Ellison’s primary focus is teaching undergraduate students. She teaches and has taught courses in Civil Engineering Materials, Computer Aided Design, Mechanics of Materials and Engineering Practice. Prior to coming to CSU, Dr. Ellison taught part-time at both Colorado School of…Read more

Tiezheng Tong Receives Young Membrane Scientist Award

Tiezheng Tong recently was recognized by the North America Membrane Society (NAMS) with the Young Membrane Scientist Award.  NAMS selected five outstanding scientists in the field to receive the award this year.  These awards are presented annually to outstanding individuals who are starting their professional careers in membrane science and technology. This award is open…Read more

Dan Baker Receives an ASEE Mechanics Division Award

In May Dan Baker was awarded the 2019 “Ferdinand P. Beer and E. Russell Johnston, Jr. Outstanding New Mechanics Educator Award” by the ASEE Mechanics Division.  The award is given annually to individuals who have shown a strong commitment to mechanics education.  They are selected on the basis of their exceptional contributions to mechanics education.

Jens Blotevogel Receives 2019 DEG Research Award

Research Scientist Jens Blotevogel recently received the American Association of Petroleum Geologists (AAPG) 2019 DEG Research Award.  The DEG Leadership judged that Blotevogel’s research contribution regarding Managing Hydraulic Fracturing Fluid Additives Primarily Biocides was noteworthy, advanced environmental geoscience knowledge, and was deserving of recognition.

Joe Scalia Receives Best Paper in Geosynthetics International

Members of the Editorial Board of Geosynthetics International voted to select the best paper published in the journal in 2018 and the paper written by Scalia IV, J., Bohnhoff, G.L., Shackelford, C.D., Benson, C.H., Sample-Lord, K.M., Malusis, M.A. and Likos, W.J. (2018). “Enhanced bentonites for containment of in organic waste leachates by GCLs.” Geosynthetics International,…Read more