Maciejewski Named IEEE Fellow

Maciejewski Head Shot

Tony Maciejewski, professor and head of the Electrical and Computer Engineering department, has been named a Fellow of the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE) for his contributions to the design and control of kinematically redundant robots.

Maciejewski joins six other Colorado State University ECE faculty members who are currently IEEE Fellows: V. Chandrasekar, Edwin Chong, George Collins, Jorge Rocca, Louis Scharf, and HJ Siegel.

The grade of Fellow is one of the most prestigious honors of the IEEE, and is bestowed upon a very limited number of senior members who have made outstanding contributions to the electrical and information technologies and sciences for the benefit of humanity and the profession. The number of IEEE fellows elected in a year is no more than one-tenth percent of the total IEEE voting membership.

Maciejewski came to Colorado State in 2001 from Purdue University. His current work focuses on how kinematic redundancy can be utilized to design failure tolerant robotic systems for remote operations. His research has been supported by the National Science Foundation, Sandia National Laboratories, DOD, NASA, the National Imagery and Mapping Agency, the Non-lethal Technology Innovation Center, the NEC Corporation, Caterpillar, AT&T, H-P, and the TRW Foundation.