Faculty Awards and Honors

Print this story

Spring-Summer 2002

The College of Engineering is proud to highlight some of the professional achievements of our faculty during the past academic year.

  • Steve Abt (CE) was promoted in the Army Reserve to Brigadier General. Of the approximately 206,000 members in an "active" status of the U.S. Army Reserve, 70 serve at the rank of Brigadier General.
  • Maurice Albertson (CE) was elected an ASCE Honorary Member, the highest recognition that the American Society of Civil Engineers grants its members. The award recognizes Dr. Albertson's contributions to water resources engineering, international development, and higher education.
  • Viswanathan Bringi (ECE) has been elected a fellow of the American Meteorological Society. Dr. Bringi was also chosen as one of the CSU Sigma Xi Honored Scientists for 2002.
  • Jack Cermak (CE) received the Ernest Howard Award from ASCE in recognition of his contributions to the advancement of structural engineering.
  • V. Chandrasekar's work on space-based radar remote sensing technologies and applications has earned him the NASA Tech award for 2002. This award is presented in recognition of creative development of a technological contribution that has been determined to be of significant value in the advancement of the space and aeronautical activities of NASA.
  • George Collins (ECE) was elected Fellow in the Optical Society of America.
  • Naz Karim (ChE) is the first chemical engineer at CSU to be elected Fellow of the American Institute of Chemical Engineers.
  • Allan Kirkpatrick (ME) was named Fellow of the American Society of Mechanical Engineers.
  • Roger Pielke (ATS) serves as the State Climatologist and is currently the President of the American Association of State Climatologists.
  • David Randall (ATS) was elected Fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science and the American Geophysical Union.
  • David Thompson (ATS) was awarded a Career Grant by the National Science Foundation. These awards are reserved for the most promising junior faculty in the U.S. and are highly competitive.

All of our faculty members excel in their professional and academic careers. We invite you to visit the department websites to learn more.