IEEE Nominates Student of Scharf for Young Author Best Paper Award

Print this story

The Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers SAM (Sensor Arrays and Multichannel Engineers) Technical Committee has nominated "Adaptive Subspace Detectors" by Shawn Kraut, Louis L. Scharf and L. Todd McWhorter for the Young Author Best Paper Award.

The Young Author Best Paper Award honors the author or authors of an especially meritorious paper dealing with a subject related to the IEEE's technical scope and appearing in one of the IEEE's publications. The primary author, in this case Shawn Kraut, must be 30-years-old or younger upon the date of the paper's submission.

Kraut, a faculty member at Queens University in Ontario, and McWhorter, a research scientist at the Aster Division of Mission Research, are former Ph.D. students of Scharf's.