Sun Sun

Latest News

Hydrology Days 2015 Featured on EOS

See Article: Water Resources in a Changing Climate

For more information on Hydrology Days 2016 go to website

Dr. Shackelford & Dr. Labadie elected to ASCE Fellow grade

Department Head Dr. Chuck Shackelford and Dr. John Labadie have both been elected to ASCE Fellow grade.

ASCE Fellows have made celebrated contributions and developed creative solutions that change lives around the world. It is a prestigious honor held by fewer than 3.5% of ASCE members. The minimum requirements are 10 years of responsible charge in the grade of ASCE Member and hold a P.E. or P.L.S. license. The applicants are nominated by an organizational entity of the Society (this includes Section or Branch Presidents, Board of Direction members, Institute Board of Governors members, and Chairs of Standing Board Committees) and voted on by the ASCE Membership Application Review Committee.

Congratulations Chuck and John!

Karan Venayagamoorthy receives the Abell Outstanding Mid-Career Faculty Award

Dr. Karan Venayagamoorthy has received the College of Engineering's Abell Outstanding Mid-Career Faculty Award.

"Karan's achievements in research, teaching and service are truly outstanding, especially for someone at a mid-academic career level. Karan is an exceptional member of the College's faculty. Karan's numerous achievements also attest to his excellent potential for making continued seminal contributions in the areas of fluid mechanics and water engineering."

Congratulations, Karan!

Steph Rosso receives Outstanding Admin Pro Staff Award

Steph Rosso has received the College of Engineering's Outstanding Administrative Professional Staff Award.

"Steph works as the Director of Strategic Planning and Operations for both ME and CEE. She is among the most dedicated employees we have in the college. She routinely goes above and beyond the call of duty. She is so vital to the functioning of both departments."

Congratulations, Steph!

Daniel Baker joins CEE Department

Dr. Daniel Baker joins the Department of Civil and Environmental Engineering Faculty as a Professor of Practice this year after serving as a Research Scientist and Instructor in our department from 2012-2015. He had previously completed a postdoctoral fellowship at Johns Hopkins University in Baltimore, MD and completed his PhD here at CSU in July 2009. Dr. Baker also earned his PE in the state of Colorado in 2015. Dan still finds time outside of teaching to research the development of holistic tools to enable better decision making for and design of stream and river systems. Additionally, he is the co-chair of the Campus Bike Advisory Committee.

CEE Dept Welcomes Two New Faculty this Fall 2015

Dr. Rob Ettema joins our faculty as the Harold Short Endowed Chair to further augment the outstanding water and infrastructure program at Colorado State University. Dr. Ettema received his undergraduate and graduate education at Auckland University, New Zealand. He has held faculty and administrative positions at The University of Iowa and the University of Wyoming prior to joining Colorado State University. His main research and expertise interests involve a range of aspects regarding water engineering, including: hydraulic structures, river mechanics, and cold-regions considerations. He has served as Editor of the American Society of Civil Engineer’s Journal of Hydraulic Engineering, Associate Editor of ASCE’s Cold Regions Engineering Journal, and has consulted and written extensively on numerous hydraulics and cold-regions problems. Additionally he is a Fellow of the Institute of Professional Engineers New Zealand and ASCE. Dr. Ettema recently was awarded the Hans Albert Einstein Award for his international recognition in advancing insight and engineering methods regarding sediment transport processes at bridge waterways and other hydraulic structures, sediment transport under ice cover and river morphology, and for promoting river mechanics education and history.

Dr. Joseph Scalia also be joins our faculty this fall. Dr. Scalia specializes in geotechnical and geoenvironmental engineering, with a focus on environmental containment systems and the development of innovative barrier systems to protect human health and the environment. These barriers include systems intended to minimize risk resulting from municipal, mining, energy-production, and hazardous wastes. Dr. Scalia has performed research on the use of bentonite clay in hydraulic barriers, development of novel bentonite-polymer barrier materials for containment of extreme wastes, performance of final cover systems, and the hydraulic and unsaturated properties of soils. Dr. Scalia earned his B.S. in civil and environmental engineering from Bucknell University in 2007, and M.S. and Ph.D. degrees in geological engineering from the University of Wisconsin-Madison in 2009 and 2012. Prior to joining CSU, he was a Senior Associate at Exponent in the Environmental and Earth Sciences Practice in Bellevue, Washington, and Natick, Massachusetts. At Exponent, Dr. Scalia specialized in the evaluation of the extent, transport, and fate of contamination in saturated and unsaturated soils.

Dr. Atadero to attend the NAE Frontiers of Engineering Education Symposium

Dr. Becki Atadero has been selected to attend the NAE Frontiers of Engineering Education Symposium to be held October 25-28, 2015, at the National Academies' Beckman Center in Irvine, CA.

Congratulations, Becki!

Dr. Arabi appointed as the Borland Endowment Professor of Water Resources

Dr. Mazdak Arabi has been appointed as the Borland Endowment Professor of Water Resources. This recognition is a new appointment that is sanctioned by the Borland Endowment, which supports the Department's activities in the areas of hydrology, hydraulics, and water resources. Mazdak has excelled in research and scholarly activity in water resources, and is well deserving of this recognition.

This appointment is in addition to the other existing Borland appointments, and is made based on nomination by the Department Head to the Borland Committee, whose approval is required. The duration of the appointment is for 3 years with the possibility of renewal by the DH.

Congratulations Mazdak!

CSU receives $12 million for urban water sustainability research

Dr. Mazdak Arabi, serves as the director of UWIN, a consortium of 14 academic institutions and key partners across the nation is addressing the challenges that threaten urban water systems in the United States and around the world. Other CSU faculty involved with UWIN include professors Sybil Sharvelle, Brian Bledsoe, Neil Grigg, Jorge Ramirez, Dan Baker, and Scott Denning from the CSU College of Engineering, and LeRoy Poff with the Department of Biology.

Congratulations to Mazdak, Sybil, Brian, Neil, Jorge, Dan and Scott!

To Read the Full Article, click here.

Graduate Applications Being Accepted

Click here for more information!